Presenters and Planning Committee

Linking Insights about How People Learn to Curricular Reform
The 2003 PKAL Assemblies
What Works - What Matters - What Lasts: The Roles and Responsibilities of Leaders in Undergraduate STEM

October 30 - November 1, 2003

Co-sponsor:

Samuel A. Abrash F21
Assembly Coordinator
Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry
University of Richmond
sabrash@richmond.edu

Suzanne Baker F21
Associate Professor of Psychology
School of Psychology
James Madison University
bakersc@jmu.edu

David F. Brakke
Dean
College of Science and Mathematics
James Madison University
brakkedf@jmu.edu

Heidi B. Carlone
Assistant Professor
Department of Curriculum and Instruction
School of Education
University of North Carolina at Greensboro
carlone@uncg.edu

Elizabeth Davis
Assistant Professor of Education
School of Education
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
betsyd@umich.edu

Susan C. Eriksson F21
Associate Dean for Science and Math Education
Associate Professor of Geology
Department of Geological Sciences
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
serikssn@vt.edu

Norman L. Fortenberry
Director
Center for the Advancement of Scholarship on Engineering Education
National Academy of Engineering
nfortenb@nae.edu

Tanya Furman F21
Associate Professor
Associate Department Head for Undergraduate Programs
Department of Geosciences
Pennsylvania State University University Park
furman@geosc.psu.edu

Esther J. Gibbs
Professor of Chemistry
Goucher College
egibbs@goucher.edu

David M. Hanson
Professor of Chemistry
Department of Chemistry
Chair of Learning Communities Program
Stony Brook University
David.Hanson@sunysb.edu

Paula R.L. Heron
Assistant Professor of Physics
Department of Physics
University of Washington
pheron@phys.washington.edu

Anthony Kelly
Professor
Graduate School of Education
George Mason University
akelly1@gmu.edu

Julie Carol Libarkin
Assistant Professor
Department of Geosciences
Ohio University Main Campus
libarkin@ohio.edu

David Lopatto
Professor of Psychology
Department of Psychology
Grinnell College
lopatto@grinnell.edu

Bernard L. Madison
Professor of Mathematics
Department of Mathematical Sciences
University of Arkansas Main Campus
bmadison@uark.edu

Lillian C. McDermott
Professor of Physics
Department of Physics
University of Washington
lcmcd@phys.washington.edu

Richard S. Moog
Professor
Department of Chemistry
Franklin & Marshall College
rick.moog@fandm.edu

Jeanne L. Narum
Director
Project Kaleidoscope
pkal@pkal.org

Andrew Newcomb
Dean, Arts & Sciences
University of Richmond
anewcomb@richmond.edu

Karen Kashmanian Oates
Senior Science Fellow
Association of American Colleges and Universities
koates@gmu.edu

Gary P. Radice F21
Associate Professor of Biology
Department of Biology
University of Richmond
gradice@richmond.edu

Edward F. Redish
Professor of Physics
Department of Physics
University of Maryland College Park
redish@quark.umd.edu

Elaine Seymour
Director, Ethnography and Evaluation Research
Bureau of Sociological Research
University of Colorado at Boulder
seymour@spot.colorado.edu

Gordon E. Uno
Department Chair and David Ross Boyd Professor
Plant Reproductive Biology, Science Education
University of Oklahoma -- Norman Campus
guno@ou.edu

F21 Project Kaleidoscope Faculty for the 21st Century Member