Presenters and Planning Committee

Taking Advantage of New Opportunities for Environmental Sciences
The 2003 PKAL Assemblies
What Works - What Matters - What Lasts: The Roles and Responsibilities of Leaders in Undergraduate STEM

Hilton Portland and Executive Tower
September 19 - 21, 2003

Co-sponsors:

Registration & Hotel Reservation Deadline: September 5, 2003

James M. Berkson F21
Assistant Professor
Department of Fisheries and Wildlife Sciences
College of Natural Resources
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
jberkson@vt.edu

David E. Blockstein
Senior Scientist
National Council for Science and the Environment
david@ncseonline.org

David F. Brakke
Dean
College of Science and Mathematics
James Madison University
brakkedf@jmu.edu

Eileen M. Cashman F21
Assistant Professor
Environmental Resources Engineering
Humboldt State University
emc7001@humboldt.edu

Anna G. Cavinato F21
Chair, Division of Science, Mathematics and Technology
Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry
Eastern Oregon University
anna.cavinato@eou.edu

Howard Drossman F21
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Environmental Science Program Director
The Colorado College
hdrossman@ColoradoCollege.edu

Terence G. Favero F21
Associate Professor
Department of Biology
University of Portland
favero@up.edu

William Focht
Director, Environmental Institute
Associate Director, Environmental Science Graduate Program
Oklahoma State University Main Campus
wfocht@okstate.edu

Richard Hazlett
Chair, Department of Geology
Pomona College
Richard_Hazlett@pomona.edu

Lamont C. Hemple
Hedco Professor and Director
Center for Environmental Studies
University of Redlands
monty_hempel@redlands.edu

James H. Howard
Dean
College of Natural Resources and Sciences
Humboldt State University
howard@humboldt.edu

Nan Jenks-Jay
Director of Environmental Affairs and Planning
Program in Environmental Studies
Middlebury College
jenksjay@middlebury.edu

Steven A. Kolmes
Rev. John Molter, C.S.C., Chair in Science
Director of Environmental Studies Program
Professor of Biology
University of Portland
kolmes@up.edu

Cathryn A. Manduca
Director, Carleton Science Education Resource Center
Coordinator, DLESE Community Issues and Groups
Carleton College
cmanduca@carleton.edu

Dennis W. Marks
Senior Associate for Networks
Project Kaleidoscope
dmarks@valdosta.edu

Marlene Moore
Dean, College of Arts & Sciences
Professor of Biology
University of Portland
moore@up.edu

James L. Pence
Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies
Pacific Lutheran University
pencejl@plu.edu

Bryan Edward Penprase F21
Associate Professor of Physics
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Pomona College
bpenprase@pomona.edu

Stephanie Pfirman F21
Professor and Chair
Environmental Science Department
Barnard College
spfirman@barnard.columbia.edu

C. Gary Reiness
Dean of Mathematical and Natural Sciences
Professor of Biology
Lewis and Clark College
reiness@biology.ucsc.edu

Bradley F. Smith
Dean of Huxley College of Environmental Studies
Western Washington University
bfs@admsec.wwu.edu

Jeffrey H. Tepper F21
Assistant Professor
Geology Department
University of Puget Sound
jtepper@ups.edu

Donald L. Woodrow
United States Geological Survey
dwoodrow@usgs.gov

F21 Project Kaleidoscope Faculty for the 21st Century Member