Presenters and Planning Committee

Motivating Students to Pursue STEM Careers
The PKAL 2003 Assemblies
What Works - What Matters - What Lasts: The Roles and Responsibilities of Leaders in Undergraduate STEM

September 5 - 7, 2003

Co-sponsors:

Planning Committee

Samuel A. Abrash F21
Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry
University of Richmond
sabrash@richmond.edu

Mary M. Allen
Jean Glasscock Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
Wellesley College
mallen@wellesley.edu

Vicki Bartolini
Associate Professor of Education
Department of Education
TSP Project Director
Wheaton College
vbartoli@wheatonma.edu

Chris Craney
Associate Dean
Professor of Biochemistry
Occidental College
chmclc@oxy.edu

Patricia Ann deWinstanley
Associate Professor of Psychology
Director, Center for Excellence in Teaching
Oberlin College
patty.dewinstanley@oberlin.edu

Valgene L. Dunham
Associate Vice President for Grants, Contracts and Research Planning
Coastal Carolina University
Dunham@coastal.edu

Nancy S. Dye
President
Oberlin College
nancy.dye@oberlin.edu

John W. Emert F21
Professor and Assistant Chair
Department of Mathematical Sciences

Ball State University
emert@bsu.edu

Norman L. Fortenberry
Director
Center for the Advancement of Scholarship on Engineering Education
National Academy of Engineering
nfortenb@nae.edu

James M. Gentile
Dean for the Natural Sciences
Kenneth G. Herrick Professor of Biology
Hope College
gentile@hope.edu

Charles E. Glassick
Senior Associate Emeritus
The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teachning
ceglassick@aol.com

Daniel L. Goroff
Professor of the Practice of Mathematics
Harvard University
goroff@math.harvard.edu

Jack G. Hehn
Director of Education
American Institute of Physics
jhehn@aip.org

Ishrat M. Khan F21
Professor of Chemistry
Clark Atlanta University
ikhan@cau.edu

Robert A. Kolvoord F21
Professor
Integrated Science and Technology
James Madison University
kolvoora@jmu.edu

Clayton R. Koppes
Vice President of Academic Affairs & Dean
Oberlin College
clayton.koppes@oberlin.edu

George M. Langford
Chair, Education and Human Resources Committee, National Science Board
Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
Dartmouth College
George.M.Langford@Dartmouth.Edu

Elizabeth F. McCormack F21
Associate Professor and Chair
Department of Physics
Bryn Mawr College
emccorma@brynmawr.edu

Alison Morrison-Shetlar F21
Director
Faculty Center for Teaching & Learning
Professor of Biology
University of Central Florida
aims@mail.ucf.edu

James O. Palmer
Associate Professor
Department of Biology and Environmental Science
TSP Project Director
Allegheny College
james.palmer@allegheny.edu

Susan Palmer
Executive Director
The Five Colleges of Ohio
palmers@kenyon.edu

William H. Rauckhorst
Professor of Physics
Senior Associate to the Provost
Miami University
rauckhwh@muohio.edu

Robert J. Schaeffner, Jr.
Principal
Payette Associates
rschaeffner@payette.com

Dennison Smith
Professor of Neuroscience & Psychology
Oberlin College
dennison.smith@oberlin.edu

Christina E. Sorum
Vice President for Academic Affairs
Dean of the Faculty
Union College
sorumc@idol.union.edu

James E. Swartz
Vice President for Academic Affairs
Dean of the College
Professor of Chemistry
Grinnell College
swartz@grinnell.edu

Roger E. Thibault F21
Associate Dean for Resources and Planning
College of Arts and Sciences
Bowling Green State University
rthibau@bgnet.bgsu.edu

Janice E. Thornton F21
Associate Professor of Neuroscience and Biology
Department of Neuroscience & Biology
Oberlin College
jan.thornton@oberlin.edu

Charlene M. Waggoner F21
Lecturer
Center for Environmental Programs
Bowling Green State University
cwaggon@bgnet.bgsu.edu

Mary M. Walczak F21
Associate Professor & Chair
Department of Chemistry
St. Olaf College
walczak@stolaf.edu

Tingxiu Wang F21
Professor of Mathematics
Department of Mathematics
Oakton Community College
tingxiu@oakton.edu

Thomas C. Werner
Professor
Department of Chemistry
Union College
wernert@union.edu

F. Sheldon Wettack
Vice President & Dean of Faculty
Professor of Chemistry
Harvey Mudd College
Sheldon_Wettack@hmc.edu

Mark C. Zrull F21
Associate Professor
Department of Psychology
Appalachian State University
zrullmc@appstate.edu

F21 Project Kaleidoscope Faculty for the 21st Century Member