Presenters and Planning Committee

Building Vital Undergraduate STEM Departments and Programs
The 2003 PKAL Assemblies
What Works - What Matters - What Lasts: The Roles and Responsibilities of Leaders in Undergraduate STEM

December 5 - 7, 2003

Co-sponsors:

Planning Committee

Peter C. Chen F21
Associate Professor of Chemistry
Department of Chemistry
Spelman College
pchen@spelman.edu

Mary L. Crowe F21
Associate Professor of Biology
College of Natural and Applied Sciences
Coastal Carolina University
crowe@coastal.edu

Thomas E. Dasher
Vice President
Provost
Berry College
tdasher@berry.edu

Christopher G. De Pree F21
Associate Professor of Physics & Astronomy
Department of Physics & Astronomy
Agnes Scott College
cdepree@agnesscott.edu

Lydia K. Fox F21
Associate Professor and Chair
Department of Geosciences
University of the Pacific
lkfox@uop.edu

J. Philip Gibson F21
Assistant Professor of Biology
Department of Biology
Agnes Scott College
pgibson@agnesscott.edu

Lilia Cuesta Harvey F21
Associate Professor and Chair
Department of Chemistry
Agnes Scott College
lharvey@agnesscott.edu

J.K. Haynes
David Packard Professor and Chairman
Department of Biology
Morehouse College
jhaynes@morehouse.edu

Ronald J. Henry
Provost
Vice President for Academic Affairs
Georgia State University
rhenry@gsu.edu

Rigoberto Hernandez
Professor
School of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Georgia Institute of Technology
hernandez@chemistry.gatech.edu

Ishrat M. Khan F21
Professor of Chemistry
Department of Chemistry
Clark Atlanta University
ikhan@cau.edu

Jay B. Labov
Deputy Director
Center for Education
National Research Council
jlabov@nas.edu

Robert L. Lichter
Principal
Merrimack Consultants, LLC
rlichter@MerrimackLLC.com

Dennis W. Marks
Senior Associate for Networks
Professor Emeritus
Department of Physics, Astronomy and Geosciences
Valdosta State University
dmarks@pkal.orgdmarks@valdosta.edu

Patricia A. Marsteller
Director, Hughes Undergraduate Science Initiative
Co-Director, Center for Behavioral Neuroscience
Emory University
pmars@learnlink.emory.edu

Mary L. Puglia F21
Professor and Head
Department of Biology
Central Arizona College-Superstition Mount. Campus
mary_puglia@centralaz.edu

Julio J. Ramirez
R. Stuart Dickson Professor
Department of Psychology
Davidson College
juramirez@davidson.edu

Ruth E. Riter F21
Assistant Professor
Department of Chemistry
Agnes Scott College
rriter@agnesscott.edu

J. B. Sharma F21
Professor of Physics
Division of Science
Gainesville College
jsharma@gc.peachnet.edu

Gay B. Stewart F21
Associate Professor and Vice-Chair
Department of Physics
University of Arkansas Main Campus
gstewart@comp.uark.edu

Dorothy D. Zinsmeister
Senior Associate For Academic Affairs
Board of Regents
The University System of Georgia
dzinsmei@mail.regents.peachnet.edu

F21 Project Kaleidoscope Faculty for the 21st Century Member